2011 - Present

Band Members:

  • Damon Fowler (guitar)
  • J.P. Soars (guitar)
  • Chuck Riley (bass)
  • Chris Peet (drums)
  • Victor Wainwright (keyboards)

Southern Comfort was formed in 2011 when Damon Fowler, J.P. Soars, and Victor Wainwright, who were performing with their respective bands at a festival in Florida in July of 2011, decided on an impromptu jam together at a post festival party. After witnessing the performance, the South Florida Blues Society approached the trio about playing for the Legendary Rhythm & Blues Pre-Cruise Party.

Fowler had already been thinking about doing a project with other musicians and contacted his pal J.P. Soars. Like Fowler, Soars lives in Florida and traces his family roots back to Arkansas. “I thought it was great idea as soon as Damon called,” Soars said from his home in Boca Raton. “I had jammed with him a few times on stage and was totally excited because there was a natural chemistry that seems to happen whenever we play together.”

The three artists are musician’s musicians, each bringing a unique style and fresh translation of the great Southern soul, blues, and rock music that came before them. Together, their mutual chemistry, high energy and skill sets create a cohesive vision, with echoes of Muscle Shoals and Macon, that organically flows together into an entirely original and dynamic form of Americana, Southern soul roots music with a modern sensibility.

Dubbing themselves Southern Hospitality, the trio added bassist Chuck Riley from Fowler’s band and Soars’ drummer Chris Peet to the lineup and made their official debut opening for Buddy Guy in August 2011 at the Heritage Music Blues Fest in Wheeling, West Virginia.

Their debut album, Easy Livin' , (2013) was produced by Tab Benoit, and released by Blind Pig Records. It peaked at No. 9 on the US Billboard Top Blues Album chart.

Easy Livin' (2013)